Romeo and Juliet…the Lesbian Version

Road trip!

The Brown Coat Pub & Theatre in Wilmington, NC is presenting a fun twist on Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet. Set in the present day, the Capulets are Republicans, the Montagues are Democrats and both Romeo and Juliet are female.  Um, yes please!  How fun is that?!

From their web site:

We are presenting William Shakespeare’s classic tale of romantic tragedy as a lesbian love story in hopes of raising awareness about these discriminatory acts and to encourage others to join in this our modern civil rights struggle.

The play runs April 9-12, 16-19 & 23-25 at 8pm

Read more and buy tickets online on their web site: www.browncoattheatre.com

Published in: on April 9, 2009 at 9:25 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://happygaynews.wordpress.com/2009/04/09/romeo-and-juliet/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Any chance of someone filming some of it for your blog for viewers from across the pond like me?

    I think the take is a good one and will definitely make a point. Plus it sounds like a lot of fun.

    I hope you don’t mind me commenting on your blog btw, I’ve just discovered wordpress and have been doing a little exploring.

  2. Filming it is a GREAT idea, but you’ll have to check with the venue. Maybe they can get someone to do a nice recording of it and post it online.

    I’m about 8 hours from Wilmington, so I’m still trying to figure out how I can get there to see it myself. Doesn’t it sound great?!

    And THANK YOU for commenting! I just started the blog yesterday, and I’m thrilled to already have a few comments!

    Have a happy day!

  3. Considering that there is a great amount of ambiguiety in some of Shakespeare’s sonnets about his sexuality, I think this adaptation might well have been to the Bard’s approval, even if it isn’t, times have changed since the Elizabethan era haven’t they so who cares, nice to see some place doing something different with the play.

    I live in England so it’s not something I’d be able to watch. But it’s nice to read about it. Great idea for a blog btw, presenting the good news.

    Oh and I’m not really up on Gay/Lesbian literature, but have you ever read any of Sarah Water’s novels? I’ve seen the adaptations of Fingersmith and Tipping the Velvet and hear that the books are even better. Those two books have an almost dickensian backdrop, but the love stories are between women. Thought it was refreshing to watch.

    • I have read those Sarah Waters novels, and they are a good read. The adaptations were better than I expected, but the books are worth reading. The adaptation changed the story a bit, so reading the books won’t seem completely redundant.

      If you liked those, you should read “Oranges Aren’t the Only Fruit” by Jeanette Winterson. I read it several years ago and LOVED it. Lauren Maddison’s mystery novels are also pretty good.

      I don’t read a lot of GLBT literature either, which is why I created the Share Your Happy Gay Books posting (https://happygaynews.wordpress.com/2009/04/09/share-your-happy-gay-books/) so we can all share our recommendations. So please feel free to post there as well.

      Have a happy day! ♥


Leave a Reply

