Happy Hand Washing

When I was in college, I worked in a large public hospital. Since then, I have become an ardent hand-washer.

The current overarching suggestion to help prevent the spread of H1N1 (AKA Swine Flu) is hand washing. Doctors suggest washing your hands for at least 15 seconds, which roughly equates to the time it takes to sing the Happy Birthday song to yourself.

If singing Happy Birthday to yourself multiple times a day every day makes you happy, then please knock yourself out.  Personally, I feel silly.

So I try to see it as an opportunity to take those oh-so-soothing deep breaths. So as I wash my hands, I take about 5 deep breaths (since the good ones should take 3-5 seconds).  It helps to reground me and clear my head.

So happify (oh yeah, now I’m making up words) your hand washing in whatever way works for you.

Happy day all! ♥

Published in: on April 30, 2009 at 10:55 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://happygaynews.wordpress.com/2009/04/30/happy-hand-washing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

